Skip to main content

RMA/RTS Settings and roles

Configuring the necessary settings and roles for RMA/RTS

First off, although the menu page in the Companion app is still called RMA, the RMA flow itself is superseded by the Return to Supply flow. In the legacy RMA flow, when RMA orders are created, they have to be validated by your finance department first. The new RTS flow by default no longer requires this validation, although we can still configure it so if you like. The new flow also offers new functionality, such as the Include and Exclude mode when picking products for the shipment.

Configuration of your Organization Units

The RMA functionality requires your current organization unit to have a Supplier OU setup in the Admin. You can do so in the Admin → Stock → Suppliers. These suppliers can be internal or external.

Settings for RTS user task

The following settings are important in the configuration of your RTS flow.

SettingvalueDescription
Orders:ReturnToSupplier:EnableTaskstrueThis lets you enable new RTS flow, which will offer you access to the new functionality.
Orders:ReturnToSupplier:UseExcludePolicyOnShipmenttrueThis lets you toggle between Exclude/Include for the picking of items.
App:ReturnToSupplier:ShipmentCanHaveTrackingCodetrueEnabling this means you will be prompted for scanning a shipment label when opening the Return to supply user task.
Orders:CreatePurchaseOrderFromReturnToSupplierOrdertrueThis setting enables the automatic creation of a Purchase order from your supplying warehouse.
ReservationCleanupTasks:EnabledtrueWhen using the legacy RMA flow, any items which are not picked when the RMA user task is completed, still have the 'Reserved' status. Using this setting lets EVA trigger a new cleanup task for these items. Note: this setting is superfluous for the RTS flow.
Orders:ReturnToSupplier:RequireOrderValidationfalseBy default false, but if you set it to true it will be required for an employee (with relevant role) to confirm the RTS order.
Orders:ReturnToSupplier:AllowConcurrentTaskstrueThis will allow your employees to work together on an RTS task. This works by duplicating the parent task.

Relevant roles for the RTS user task

Only users with the role ReturnToSupplierOrders enabled in their account are able to start and complete a Return to Supplier user task.

Although users with the permission here above can pick order lines in the RTS user task, if they do not have the FinalizeReturnToSupplierOrder permission, they cannot finish the Return to Supply user task in its entirety. The user task will therefore remain available, even if all order lines contained in the task have been picked, until a user with FinalizeReturnToSupplierOrder functionality completes it.

If a user with the necessary role finishes the complete task while not all order lines have been picked, the shipment will be finalized regardless. Any non-picked order lines on the RMA order will be cancelled.

The VerifyOrder role is necessary only if order validation is enabled in the settings. When the setting is enabled, an additional 'Order confirmation' note will be shown in the order details. When the employee has the 'VerifyOrder' role, a button will be displayed there to confirm the order right away.

You can find an overview of these roles here below.

RoleFunctionality
ReturnToSupplierOrdersThis is required for all employees that need to be able to start and partake in Return to Supplier user tasks.
FinalizeReturnToSupplierOrderThis is required for an employee to be able to finish the entire RTS user task.
VerifyOrderThis enables an employee to verify the order if order validation is required.
RTS Service flow

If you'd like more information on which specific services are called at what time during the RTS flow, head on over to RTS Flow.